MNDA – The truth about this awful disease #2

To donate:

Dennis Murphy

What are the different types of MND?

There are four main types of MND, each affecting people in different ways. Although someone might be diagnosed with a particular type, one type can turn into another over time. This means that sometimes a person might not know what kind of MND they have.

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) is the most common form of MND. People who have this form of the disease often start by having weakness and wasting in their arms and legs. Someone may first notice they are tripping up when walking or that they drop things.

Progressive bulbar palsy (PBP) affects about a quarter of people diagnosed with MND. People with PBP may find that their speech starts to slur or they may have difficulty swallowing.

Progressive muscular atrophy (PMA) affects only a small proportion of people. To start with people may notice weakness or clumsiness in their hands.

Primary lateral sclerosis (PLS) is a rare form of MND causing mainly weakness in the lower limbs, although some people may experience clumsiness in the hands or speech problems. Many people with PLS live as long as they would have if they didn’t have the disease.

(Information taken from MNDA website)

I’m not totally sure which type my dad had, I’m assuming it was ALS, but it all happened so quickly, and he was taken so soon, it’s only now that I know there are different types!

To donate:


Leave a Reply